New for 2023, the Awards for Young Writers on Horseracing is an updated version of the Martin Wills Prize which ran for a number of years and launched the career of horseracing journalist and podcaster, Nick Luck (also a Trustee of the National Horseracing Museum).

This essay writing prize is open to young people aged 11 to 25 in the eastern region (Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, Essex and Bedfordshire).

By taking part, young people will develop research skills and explore sports journalism writing styles and the winning entries will be published in the Racing Post.

All entrants and participating settings will receive a Certificate of Participation. Thanks to the Wilmington Trust, our sponsors, there are two categories with generous prizes for winning entries:

  • 16-25 years £500 up to 1200 words
  • 11-15 years £250 up to 700 words

The new closing date for entries will be midnight on 15 January 2024.

Submitted essays will be judged by a range of specialists from the media, horseracing industry and the Wilmington Trust, including ITV’s Rishi Persad and David Milnes from the Racing Post. The judging panel will be looking for wining entries showing journalistic skill, original content and exciting stories on horseracing subjects or current or past races.

A prize ceremony for shortlisted entries and winners will be held at the National Horseracing Museum in Newmarket with complimentary family passes to visit the museum on Saturday 2 March 2023.

Please click below for:

Content Guide Resource

Terms and conditions 2
Class_and_group_submission_form_Awards_for_Young_Writers_on_Horseracing.01 (1)

To enter and find out more email

Recent news